Unbreak My Heart by Melissa Walker

76%

36 Critic Reviews

From vessels named with groan-inducing puns like Sea Ya to the challenges of shipboard sanitation, she brings the insulated boating world to life with knowledgeable affection. A quietly absorbing journey.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

You can't help who you fall in love with. It's a lesson Clementine Williams knows all too well. She's headed into the summer with a broken heart and zero social life. So even though her parents' plan to spend the summer (trapped) on their sailboat should make Clem break out in hives, she doesn't really mind the chance to float away for a while. Even if it means most of her social interaction will be with her nine-year-old sister. Then she meets James at one of their stops on the Great Loop-a classic sailing track in the US. He and his dad are sailing the same track and he's just the distraction Clem needs. But will he be able to break down Clem's walls and heal her broken heart?
Told in alternating chapters that chronicle the year that broke Clem's heart and the summer that healed it, Unbreak My Heart is a wonderful dual love story from magazine writer/editor and rising star, Melissa Walker.
 

About Melissa Walker

See more books from this Author
MELISSA WALKER has worked as ELLEgirl Features Editor and Seventeen Prom Editor. She is the author of Small Town Sinners, the Violet on the Runway series, and Lovestruck Summer. Melissa manages the daily e-newsletter, iheartdaily.com and handles blogging for readergirlz.com.www.melissacwalker.com
 
Published May 22, 2012 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens. 241 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Sports & Outdoors, Children's Books. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
2
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Unbreak My Heart
All: 36 | Positive: 33 | Negative: 3

Kirkus

Good
on Mar 14 2012

From vessels named with groan-inducing puns like Sea Ya to the challenges of shipboard sanitation, she brings the insulated boating world to life with knowledgeable affection. A quietly absorbing journey.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart | See more reviews from Kirkus

WAPL Teens

Excellent
Reviewed by Megan on Jul 25 2012

his sun-soaked summer sparkler of a read is for fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti...

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

All the Books I Can Read

Good
Aug 19 2012

Unbreak My Heart takes a character that could be quite unsympathetic and manages to make her sympathetic.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Wondrous Reads

Good
Reviewed by Jenny on Jul 09 2012

Her writing is summery and addictive, and before long I end up lost in her words.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

365 Days of Reading

Good
Reviewed by Lauren on May 16 2012

Walker does an excellent job of writing a story that is realistic, memorable, and fun—all at the same time.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Chick Loves Lit

Good
Reviewed by Shanyn on Apr 28 2012

I wholeheartedly recommend UNBREAK MY HEART, especially for those interested in a boat setting!

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Hippies, Beauty, and Books Oh My!

Good

Two thumbs held really high up!

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Alexa Loves Books

Good
Aug 13 2012

It takes the difficult issue of cheating and its repercussions and weaves it into this story that is emotional, believable and compelling.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Flamingnet

Below average
Jun 07 2012

Clementine's character was not developed enough, and I never really felt connected to her.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

YA Librarian Tales

Good
Reviewed by Sarah on May 07 2012

There was just something comforting about this book and I really thought it ended on a hopeful note for Clem. Her problems were not all solved but she was on the road to something better.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Early Nerd Special

Good
Reviewed by Clementine Bojangles on May 22 2012

Best for readers who like their characters complex and their stories more relaxed, this book would be perfect reading material for a day on the water.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

The Book Scoop

Good
Reviewed by Rowena on Jun 05 2012

When a book has kept you up until the wee hours of the morning, you know it was a good book.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Letters Inside Out

Good
Reviewed by Amanda on May 21 2012

I love how beautifully Walker manages to capture Clem’s life using alternating chapters to flash back to the past.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Bloggers Heart Books

Good
Reviewed by Julie on May 24 2012

Overall, Unbreak My Heart was pretty freaking amazing. It had romance, awesome characters, development, family issues, friend issues, good questions...a ton of aspects that make a great novel. Sometimes it was light and fun, but sometimes it was a bit deeper. Definitely one to pick up this summer!

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Literally Jen

Good
Reviewed by Jen on May 20 2012

UNBREAK MY HEART is the first book I have read by Melissa Walker, and I couldn’t get enough of it.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Anna Reads

Good
Reviewed by Anna Heinemann on May 03 2012

Anyway, cheers to Unbreak My Heart by Melissa Walker for getting me to step outside my comfort zone and, for once in my life, cheer on the cheater.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Reclusive Bibliophile

Good
Reviewed by Melanie Goodman on Jul 03 2012

Contemp fans looking for a summer read will appreciate the authenticity of Unbreak My Heart and its unfamiliar approach to familiar topics.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Nina Reads

Good
Reviewed by Nina on Jun 04 2012

Unbreak My Heart is the perfect summer romance, great for a day at the beach...

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

A Good Addiction

Good
Reviewed by Kari Olson on May 28 2012

With a strong voice, and smooth writing, Walker will keeps readers thinking of her book long after the pages are done.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

A Book and a Latte

Good
Reviewed by Jen on May 22 2012

Unbreak My Heart pulled at my heartstrings – it made me cry, but it also made me smile.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Sophistikatied Reviews

Below average
Reviewed by Katie on May 17 2012

...we didn't get enough of the drama to really feel the dramatics... The story was told through flashbacks but they were so scattered and short that it didn't really have any effect on me while reading.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Katie's Amazing Book Reviews

Good
Reviewed by Katie on May 08 2012

Unbreak My Heart has the added nautical aspect but it's so much more special than just that with its awesome characters and romance.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

The Hiding Spot

Good
Reviewed by Sara on May 03 2012

Simple, yet filled with such emotional depth and meaning that I wanted to simultaneously hug it to my chest and thrust it at my roommate and command that she read it immediately.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Portrait of a Book

Good
Reviewed by Christin on Jul 02 2012

Whether you're looking for something about first love or recovery from first crushes, Unbreak My Heart is a great summer read.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Once Upon a Prologue

Good
Reviewed by Molli on Jun 08 2012

Unbreak My Heart is a story with layers, and I enjoyed delving deeper than the rippling surface.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

The Hollow Cupboards

Good
Reviewed by Cheyenne on Jun 03 2012

Unbreak My Heart is well-written, emotional and the perfect summer read.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Galley Smith

Good
Reviewed by Andi on May 21 2012

Walker definitely has a way about her words that gets you thinking and I find that pretty extraordinary.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Bookish Novelties

Good
Reviewed by Ashlie on Jun 19 2012

She captures teenage heartbreak, loyalties, betrayal and annoying siblings on summer trips, forgiving yourself and letting go, pretty spot on.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

GReads!

Good
Reviewed by Ginger on Jun 11 2012

This novel is complete with good times, the kind that make your heart swell & grab that package of post-its because you must mark all these wonderful passages.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

The Reading Geek

Below average
Reviewed by Traci on May 22 2012

I found it hard to really connect with her and thought she was a bit overdramatic.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Blook Girl

Good
Reviewed by Katie Tuccelli on Jul 05 2012

You will fall in love with Clem, her journey, her family, and even her friends.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

I Read Banned Books

Good
Reviewed by Jen Bigheart on May 29 2012

Great mix of characters, perfect setting, and first love will have you feeling the hot summer sun a little early.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Missy's Reads & Reviews

Good
Reviewed by Missy on May 22 2012

Unbreak My Heart is a nice, easy read whose characters will steal your heart - though I don't think your heart will be broken when you finish this book.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Vy's Blog

Good
Reviewed by Vy Le on Jul 20 2012

It was easy to get lost in the pages and fall in love right along with Clementine.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Novel Days

Good
Reviewed by Britta Kirk on Jul 11 2012

Unbreak my Heart is a great summer novel that is filled with heartbreaking tension, and yet a freshness that makes you remember to seize each moment...

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Bree's Books

Good
Reviewed by Briana

...I think Walker captured the angst, turmoil and despair Clementine went through perfectly.

Read Full Review of Unbreak My Heart

Reader Rating for Unbreak My Heart
78%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 83 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Padma Narra

Padma Narra 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Kristi Herbrand

Kristi Herbrand 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×