Ungifted by Gordon Korman

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews



From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program—and changes everything. For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog story is a lovable and goofy adventure with robot fights, middle-school dances, live experiments, and statue-toppling pranks!

When Donovan Curtis pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he’s finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a special program for gifted and talented students.

Although it wasn’t exactly what Donovan had intended, the ASD couldn’t be a more perfectly unexpected hideout for someone like him. But as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything), he shows that his gifts may be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed. 


About Gordon Korman

See more books from this Author
Gordon Korman has written more than seventy middle-grade and teen novels. Favorites include the New York Times bestselling The 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers Book One: The Medusa Plot; Pop; Schooled; No More Dead Dogs; Son of the Mob; and Born to Rock. Gordon lives with his family on Long Island, NY. You can visit him online at www.gordonkorman.com.
Published August 21, 2012 by Balzer + Bray. 292 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Ungifted

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

When the robotics class creates a robot named Tin Man, though, it’s Donovan’s skill with the joystick, developed by hours of playing video games, that gives the team hope of winning the upcoming competition.

May 23 2012 | Read Full Review of Ungifted

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this funny and insightful middle-grade novel from Korman (Pop), eighth-grader Donovan Curtis is a reckless boy with “poor impulse control,” whose classmates have voted him “Most Likely to Wind Up in Jail.” After Donovan’s gift for chaos causes an especially costly accident at school,...

Aug 13 2012 | Read Full Review of Ungifted

City Book Review

Superintendent Schultz catches Donovan before he can get away, and because Schultz can’t deal with the problem right away, he jots down Donovan’s name for later punishment.

Oct 16 2012 | Read Full Review of Ungifted

Common Sense Media

Told from the perspectives of various characters, a tale emerges of how Donovan, the brainiacs, and Donovan's delinquent pals ensure that things are never the same at the academy again.

Aug 21 2012 | Read Full Review of Ungifted

Kidz World

When troublemaker Donovan is transferred to a gifted school, he learns to be a better person and teaches the gifted students an important life lesson.

Dec 14 2012 | Read Full Review of Ungifted


If anyone deserves NOT to go to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction (ASD), his school district's gifted and talented school, it's Donovan Curtis.

Aug 25 2012 | Read Full Review of Ungifted

Reader Rating for Ungifted

An aggregated and normalized score based on 484 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review