Unseen by Mari Jungstedt
A Mystery

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Swedish crime at its best---dark, atmospheric, and chilling
The island of Gotland is in the middle of a busy tourist season and getting ready for Midsummer, the 4th of July of Swedish holidays, when a young woman and her dog are found brutally murdered. The dog has been beheaded and is missing a paw; the woman is naked, covered in gruesome axe wounds, and her panties have been stuffed in her mouth.
            What looks like a crime committed by the victim's jealous husband keeps the local police force on their toes. Then a second victim is found. A serial killer terrorizes tourists and locals alike, and Inspector Anders Knutas has to face additional pressure from the media and local politicians who are worried about bad PR for the island.
In his quest for the murderer, he is aided by Johan Berg, an intrepid young journalist from Stockholm who has been sent to cover the incidents and who gets involved with Emma, one of the first victim’s close friends. Three women die before Knutas and Berg, each approaching the case in their own way, finally close in on the killer, who has always, until now, been the one unseen by everybody.
Jungstedt has written an atmospheric and exciting first mystery in clear, unadorned prose, in the tradition of Henning Mankell, Håkan Nesser, and Karin Fossum.

About Mari Jungstedt

See more books from this Author
Mari Jungstedt has previously worked as a reporter on Swedish national public radio and television. She also had a brief career as a fashion model in New York City. Her novels featuring Superintendent Anders Knutas and the journalist Johan Berg are set on the island of Gotland, where Jungstedt resides during the summer months. Six titles have been the basis for Swedish movies. Mari Jungstedt lives in Stockholm, Sweden, and has two children.
Published April 1, 2007 by Minotaur Books. 256 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Unseen

Curious Book Fans

When Johan interviews Helena’s best friend she mentions something that Johan feels compelled to tell the police as it’s something that he feels could help the investigation.

Jul 11 2010 | Read Full Review of Unseen: A Mystery

Reader Rating for Unseen

An aggregated and normalized score based on 57 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review