Uprooted by Naomi Novik

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life. Her people rely on the cold, ambitious wizard, known only as the Dragon, to keep the wood's powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman must be handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as being lost to the wood. The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows - everyone knows - that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia - all the things Agnieszka isn't - and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her. But no one can predict how or why the Dragon chooses a girl. And when he comes, it is not Kasia he will take with him. From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.
 

About Naomi Novik

See more books from this Author
Naomi Novik is the acclaimed author of the Temeraire series. She has been nominated for the Hugo Award and has won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, as well as the Locus Award for Best New Writer and the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel. She is also the author of the graphic novel Will Supervillains Be on the Final? Fascinated with both history and legends, Novik is a first-generation American raised on Polish fairy tales and stories of Baba Yaga. Her own adventures include pillaging degrees in English literature and computer science from various ivory towers, designing computer games, and helping to build the Archive of Our Own for fanfiction and other fanworks. Novik is a co-founder of the Organization for Transformative Works. She lives in New York City with husband and Hard Case Crime founder Charles Ardai and their daughter, Evidence, surrounded by an excessive number of purring computers.
 
Published May 21, 2015 by Tor. 400 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Uprooted

The Bookbag

It's fantastic to see a lead in a fairy tale who, whilst kept in a tower by a powerful wizard, has no issue leaving the tower to protect the ones she loves - and equally it is clear that the Dragon, despite his disparaging tone and misanthropic nature, clearly cares deeply about the kingdom he ha...

Mar 17 2015 | Read Full Review of Uprooted

SciFiNow

it would’ve been easy for Uprooted to lose any grasp on reality among wizards and chimeras, but our heroine’s constant, unwavering devotion to Casia and the Dragon really draws you in.

May 22 2015 | Read Full Review of Uprooted

Upcoming4.Me

Our notable features include "Story Behind the Story" and "Origins" essays and we publish "Story behind the Book" anthologies.

Jun 19 2015 | Read Full Review of Uprooted

Carina's Books

Thanks for your honest review.

Jun 19 2015 | Read Full Review of Uprooted

Reader Rating for Uprooted
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 11 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review