Valentina by Kevin Mc Dermott
The President's Daughter

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Most of the world is burning or flooded. The temperate zones are still habitable – and one small island is teeming with climate refugees. Life in the Badlands is dangerous, disease-ridden, violent and controlled by gangsters and terrorists. But Valentina lives high in the privileged Citadel, at the heart of the heavily protected Green Zone. She is the president’s daughter, sheltered, spoilt and arrogant. When she makes a secret trip to the Badlands, however, with her friends, Pippa and Damian, she is forced to face up to the realities of life on the island and to the responsibilities her position brings with it. Dystopian fiction at its best, this will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games, Veronica Roth's Divergent series, Gabrielle Zevin's New York series and Meg Rosoff's How I Live Now.


About Kevin Mc Dermott

See more books from this Author
Kevin McDermott works in teacher education and is the editor of Teaching English magazine.
Published March 1, 2012 by Little Island Books. 175 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review