Violet and Winston by Sonya Sones

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Violet the swan is brash and bighearted; Winston the duck is bumbling and sweet. They are the best of friends despite being very different birds. Through the three episodes in this endearing picture book, their fondness for each other helps them overcome some terrifi cally silly challenges.

Husband-and-wife team Sonya Sones and Bennett Tramer loosely based Violet and Winston on themselves, and they then recruited their friend Chris Raschka to create their avian alter egos. The result is a joyful kid-pleaser in the tradition of George & Martha and Frog & Toad.

About Sonya Sones

See more books from this Author
Sonya Sones is the award-winning author of several young adult novels-in-verse; Bennett Tramer is an Emmy-nominated television writer. They live near the beach in Southern California. Chris Raschka won the Caldecott Medal for The Hello, Goodbye Window. He lives in New York City.
Published March 5, 2009 by Dial. 32 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books.

Unrated Critic Reviews for Violet and Winston

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Add Violet the brash, big-hearted swan and Winston the bumbling, sweet duck to the venerable list of picture-book odd couples—Laura Vaccaro Seeger’s Dog and Bear, James Marshall’s George and Martha or even the boys in Raschka’s Yo!

Feb 15 2009 | Read Full Review of Violet and Winston

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

the last, “The Garage Sale,” in which Violet convinces shoppers not to buy any of Winston's merchandise because each piece is a memento of their friendship, is husband-and-wife team Sones (What My Mother Doesn't Know ) and Tramer's funniest, albeit in a Disney Channel kind of way (“That mug is...

Jan 19 2009 | Read Full Review of Violet and Winston

Rate this book!

Add Review