Vivaldi's Four Seasons by Anna Harwell Celenza

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



In eighteenth-century Venice, Italy, the finest musical performances are heard at an orphanage called the Ospedale della Pieta. Hidden from the audience is an orchestra of young orphan girls, some with physical disabilities and illnesses.

Padre Antonio Vivaldi, their music teacher, is inspired by the talented and determined young girls. When Vivaldi and his students are separated, Vivaldi is inspired to compose a set of concertos that mark the passing of time--the great baroque masterpiece entitled The Four Seasons.

Back matter includes an author's note with further historical and biographical information, as well as the text of the sonnets that accompany the music.

About Anna Harwell Celenza

See more books from this Author
Anna Harwell Celenza is a musicologist and the author of several books for adults and children regarding music history and the history of art. Her children's books include THE FAREWELL SYMPHONY, PICTURES AT AN EXHIBITION, GERSHWIN'S RHAPSODY IN BLUE, and VIVALDI'S FOUR SEASONS'. Anna lives in Baltimore, Maryland.
Published July 1, 2012 by Charlesbridge. 32 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Arts & Photography, Children's Books.

Unrated Critic Reviews for Vivaldi's Four Seasons

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

In 18th-century Venice, a young priest named Vivaldi taught music to the orphans of the Ospedale della Pietà and later composed a concerto for them, the first of four “seasons,” each with an accompanying sonnet.

May 15 2012 | Read Full Review of Vivaldi's Four Seasons

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The seventh book in Celenza’s music appreciation series is based upon Vivaldi’s time as a music instructor at a Venetian orphanage.

May 21 2012 | Read Full Review of Vivaldi's Four Seasons

Rate this book!

Add Review