Vortex by S. J. Kincaid
(Insignia)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

A surprisingly and satisfyingly rich middle volume in a trilogy that exceeds popcorn expectations.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

S. J. Kincaid has created a fascinating dystopian world for Insignia, her futuristic science-fiction adventure series perfect for fans of Ender's Game. Earth is in the middle of WWIII, a war to determine which governments and corporations will control the resources of the solar system.

Teen Tom Raines grew up with nothing—some days without even a roof over his head. Then his exceptional gaming skills earned him a spot in the Intrasolar Forces, the country's elite military training program, and his life completely changed.

Now in Vortex, the second book in the series, Tom discovers that the Pentagonal Spire, where he and his friends are being trained as superhuman weapons, is filled with corruption. He is asked to betray his friends—the first real friends he's ever had—for the sake of his country.

Will he sacrifice his new life to do what he believes is right?

 

About S. J. Kincaid

See more books from this Author
S. J. Kincaid was born in Alabama, grew up in California, and attended high school in New Hampshire. She also interned for a politician in Washington, DC, and received degrees from universities in Illinois and Ohio, but it was while living beside a haunted graveyard in Edinburgh, Scotland, that she realized she wanted to be a writer. Several years, several manuscripts, and several jobs later, Ms. Kincaid now lives outside of Chicago, IL, and Insignia is her debut novel. You can visit her online at www.sjkincaid.com.
 
Published July 2, 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books. 405 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Young Adult, Children's Books, Computers & Technology, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Vortex
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on May 15 2013

A surprisingly and satisfyingly rich middle volume in a trilogy that exceeds popcorn expectations.

Read Full Review of Vortex (Insignia) | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Vortex
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 86 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×