Voyager by Diana Gabaldon


15 Critic Reviews

Although this latest volume lacks some of the scope and grandeur of the previous two, her use of historical detail and a truly adult love story confirm Gabaldon as a superior writer of historical romance.
-Publishers Weekly


BONUS: This edition contains an excerpt from Diana Gabaldon's Drums of Autumn.

From the author of the breathtaking bestsellers Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber, the extraordinary saga continues.

Their passionate encounter happened long ago by whatever measurement Claire Randall took. Two decades before, she had traveled back in time and into the arms of a gallant eighteenth-century Scot named Jamie Fraser. Then she returned to her own century to bear his child, believing him dead in the tragic battle of Culloden. Yet his memory has never lessened its hold on her... and her body still cries out for him in her dreams.

Then Claire discovers that Jamie survived. Torn between returning to him and staying with their daughter in her own era, Claire must choose her destiny. And as time and space come full circle, she must find the courage to face the passion and pain awaiting her...the deadly intrigues raging in a divided Scotland... and the daring voyage into the dark unknown that can reunite—or forever doom—her timeless love.

About Diana Gabaldon

See more books from this Author
Diana Gabaldon is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the wildly popular Outlander novels—Outlander, Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, Drums of Autumn, The Fiery Cross, A Breath of Snow and Ashes (for which she won a Quill Award and the Corine International Book Prize), and An Echo in the Bone—as well as the Lord John Grey novels Lord John and the Private Matter, Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade, Lord John and the Hand of Devils, and The Scottish Prisoner; one work of nonfiction, The Outlandish Companion; and the Outlander graphic novel The Exile. She lives in Scottsdale, Arizona, with her husband.
Published October 26, 2004 by Dell. 1072 pages
Genres: History, Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Voyager
All: 15 | Positive: 12 | Negative: 3


Above average
on Jun 24 2010

Fans will savor this hefty tome's conscientious tying up of loose ends--but Claire's uncharacteristic passivity throughout and the book's overreliance on convention are unlikely to draw new readers.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander) | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Nov 29 1993

Although this latest volume lacks some of the scope and grandeur of the previous two, her use of historical detail and a truly adult love story confirm Gabaldon as a superior writer of historical romance.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander) | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

All About Romance

Reviewed by Claudia Terrones on Jan 30 2013

...Voyager is a well-crafted work, not overwhelmed by the carefully detailed research that has gone into it, but supported by it.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander) | See more reviews from All About Romance

Open Book Society

Below average
Reviewed by Heidi on Feb 22 2012

...this one I just found to be OK. I just hate seeing this series slowly going further and further downhill for me.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

Below average
Reviewed by Jen on Aug 29 2014

Again, I am 100% invested in Jamie and Claire, but I’m just not enjoying where Gabaldon is taking the series. Many, many fans loved this book and I really do see the draw. The negatives just don’t outweigh the positives at this point.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

That's What She Read

Reviewed by Michelle on Nov 03 2010

Fans of Jamie and Claire will not be disappointed with Voyager. In fact, everything they face in this novel only confirms that individually, each character is special but together, they are a force that can take the world by storm.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

Rhapsody in Books

Above average
on Apr 22 2014

If you enjoy sagas, sex, and Scotland, this is a series consisting of immensely long books that will occupy you for many days and nights!

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

Fyrefly's Book Blog

on Apr 18 2008

Love, love, love these books. I enjoyed this one a little more than Dragonfly in Amber, because that one was almost straight-up historical fiction, and this one adds back in a touch more of the romance side of things...

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

Maryse's Book Blog

Reviewed by Maryse on Jan 09 2011

I thought I knew it all, but oh boy did this book surprise me at times. I even found myself raging against a few characters I didn’t even think twice about, and over and over again, I was struck silly with each new revelation.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

Literate Housewife

Above average
Reviewed by Jennifer on Aug 04 2010

As I found with Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager was not what Outlander was. That does not mean that I didn’t like it. I did. Very much. It was during my reading of Voyager that I realized exactly what the Outlander series was for me – a soap opera featuring a wonderful super couple.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

Long and Short Reviews

Reviewed by Violet on Oct 12 2007

Gabaldon takes you on a rollercoaster ride as you journey with Claire, Jamie, and others on a special voyage. One thing is sure. You won’t be able to put it down until you read the last words.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

You've GOTTA Read This

Reviewed by Sandy Nawrot on Apr 13 2009

Even though Gabaldon doesn't drop any bombs on us in the final moments of the book, I am very anxious to continue allowing the story to eat me alive (sadist, aren't I?).

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

Reflections of a Book Addict

on Mar 24 2013

With all this being said, it’s no wonder I keep going back for more in this series. Every time I think Gabaldon won’t get any better, she blows away my expectations.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

Another Look Book Reviews

on Feb 18 2012

They are not light reads. They are not romances. They are emotional roller coaster rides that will never let you forget the characters Jamie, Claire and the country, Scotland. I think Diana Gabaldon should get some sort of shares for how many visitors a year Scotland receives due to this series.

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)


Above average
Reviewed by Monica on Jul 08 2011

I enjoyed the book, and feel like it was a good follow-up to the emotional roller coaster of Dragonfly in Amber. Thankfully it ended on a relatively stable note...

Read Full Review of Voyager (Outlander)

Reader Rating for Voyager

An aggregated and normalized score based on 6140 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review