Ware Hawk by Andre Norton
(Witch World Series)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


Few authors have achieved such renown as World Fantasy Life Achievement honoree and Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America, Andre Norton. With the love of readers and the praise of critics, Norton's books have sold millions of copies worldwide. Tirtha was the last of the line of Hawkholme. Those who hated the Old Race had destroyed her clan, and she alone shouldered the burden of her family’s destiny. Compelled by a powerful magic to return to her ancestral home, she set out into the desolate, ruined mountains of Estcarp. Her guide was a falconer, a man of an ancient warrior race who was also alone in the world... But a Dark One was determined to foil their mission – only together could they hope to stand against its awesome powers. “Deeply enmeshed in sorcery and magic, the story is taut with conflict and suspense” – The Horn Book Magazine “A superb storyteller with a narrative pace all her own.” – New York Times “The Grande Dame of science fiction.” – Life Magazine

About Andre Norton

See more books from this Author
Born Alice Mary Norton on February 17, 1912 in Cleveland, Ohio, she legally changed her name to Andre Alice Norton in 1934. She attended the Flora Stone Mather College of Western Reserve University (now Case Western Reserve) for a year then took evening courses in journalism and writing that were offered by Cleveland College, the adult division of the same university. Norton was a librarian for the Cleveland Library System then a reader at Gnome Press. After that position, she became a full-time writer. She is most noted for writing fantasy, in particular the Witch World series. Her first book The Prince of Commands was published in 1934. Other titles include Ralestone Luck, Magic in Ithkar, Voorloper, Uncharted Stars, The Gifts of Asti and All Cats are Gray. She also wrote under the pen names Andre Norton, Andrew North and Allen Weston She was the first woman to receive the Gandalf Grand Master of Fantasy and the Nebula Grand Master Award. She has also received a Phoenix Award for overall writing achievement, a Jules Verne Award, and a Science Fiction Book Club Book of the Year Award for her title The Elvenbane. In 1997 she was inducted into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame. She died on March 17, 2005.
Published January 1, 1983 by Mcclelland & Stewart. 173 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for Ware Hawk

An aggregated and normalized score based on 14 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review