We Only Know So Much by Elizabeth Crane
A Novel (P.S.)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...a wry evocation of modern life, at once familiar but also revelatory.
-LA Times

Synopsis

A funny and moving debut novel that follows four generations of a singularly weird American family, all living under one roof, as each member confronts a moment of crisis in a narrative told through a uniquely quirky, charming, and unforgettable voice. Acclaimed short story writer Elizabeth Crane, well known to public radio listeners for her frequent and captivating contributions to WBEZ Chicago’s Writer’s Block Party, delivers a sublime, poignant, and often hilarious first novel, perfect for fans of Jessica Anya Blau’s The Summer of Naked Swim Parties and Heather O’Neill’s Lullabies for Little Criminals.

“Crane has a distinctive and eccentric voice that is consistent and riveting.” —New York Times Book Review

 

About Elizabeth Crane

See more books from this Author
Elizabeth Crane is the author of three collections of short stories: When the Messenger Is Hot, All This Heavenly Glory, and You Must Be This Happy to Enter. Her work has been featured in the Mississippi Review, Chicago Reader, Believer, Other Voices, Bridge, and several anthologies, including McSweeney's The Future Dictionary of America, The Best Underground Fiction, Loser, Altared, and The Show I'll Never Forget. She is a regular contributor to Writer's Block Party on WBEZ Chicago. In 2003 she received the Chicago Public Library 21st Century Award. She currently teaches creative writing and lives in Chicago with her husband and their dog.
 
Published June 12, 2012 by Harper Perennial. 280 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for We Only Know So Much
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

LA Times

Good
Reviewed by Scott Martelle on Aug 13 2012

...a wry evocation of modern life, at once familiar but also revelatory.

Read Full Review of We Only Know So Much: A Novel... | See more reviews from LA Times

Reader Rating for We Only Know So Much
72%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 43 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×