Weave a Circle Round by Kari Maaren
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Weave a Circle Round steadfastly occupies the shakiest of terrain: It's a fantasy novel that is aware of fantasy novels and manages to create something new and powerful out of familiar tropes and approaches.
-Globe and Mail

Synopsis

Discover your inner child once again in this debut fantasy adventure for fans of Madeleine L'Engle, Diana Wynne Jones, and E. L. Konigsburg.


When the unexpected moves in next door, anything can happen in Weave a Circle Round, Kari Maaren's debut in this YA-friendly fantasy adventure.

Freddy doesn’t want people to think she’s weird. Her family makes that difficult, though: her deaf stepbrother Roland’s a major geek, and her genius little sister Mel’s training to be the next Sherlock Holmes. All Freddy wants is to survive high school.

Then two extremely odd neighbors move in next door.

Cuerva Lachance and Josiah definitely aren't normal. Neither is their house, which defies the laws of physics. Neither is Freddy’s situation, when she suddenly finds herself stuck thousands of years in the past with her very, very weird neighbors. And that’s only the beginning.



“I adored this brilliant book from start to finish. It left me reeling with delight and I can't wait for the rest of the world to get as lost in its pages as I was.” ―Charles de Lint

“I'd have loved this book when I was twelve, and I love it now.” ―Nebula, Hugo, and World Fantasy-Award winning author Jo Walton

 

About Kari Maaren

See more books from this Author
 
Published November 28, 2017 by Tor Books. 362 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Horror, Children's Books. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Weave a Circle Round
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Globe and Mail

Good
Reviewed by Robert Wiersema on Dec 14 2017

Weave a Circle Round steadfastly occupies the shakiest of terrain: It's a fantasy novel that is aware of fantasy novels and manages to create something new and powerful out of familiar tropes and approaches.

Read Full Review of Weave a Circle Round: A Novel | See more reviews from Globe and Mail

Rate this book!

Add Review
×