Weeds by Richard Mabey

94%

7 Critic Reviews

Mabey's amble through the low-level, high-rise world of weeds is rich in lore and usefulness. 
-Guardian

Synopsis

“[A] witty and beguiling meditation on weeds and their wily ways….You will never look at a weed, or flourish a garden fork, in the same way again.”
—Richard Holmes, author of The Age of Wonder

“In this fascinating, richly detailed book, Richard Mabey gives weeds their full due.”
—Carl Zimmer, author of Evolution

Richard Mabey, Great Britain’s Britain’s “greatest living nature writer” (London Times), has written a stirring and passionate defense of nature’s most unloved plants.  Weeds is a fascinating, eye-opening, and vastly entertaining appreciation of the natural world’s unappreciated wildflowers that will appeal to fans of David Attenborough, Robert Sullivan’s Rats, Amy Stewart’s Wicked Plants, and to armchair gardeners, horticulturists, green-thumbs, all those who stop to smell the flowers.

 

About Richard Mabey

See more books from this Author
Richard Mabey is the father figure of modern nature writing in the UK. Since 1972 he has written some 40 influential books, including the prize-winning Nature Cure, Gilbert White: a Biography, and Flora Britannica. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and Vice-President of the Open Spaces Society. He spent the first half of his life amongst the Chiltern beechwoods, and now lives in Norfolk in a house surrounded by ash trees.
 
Published June 28, 2011 by HarperCollins e-books. 339 pages
Genres: Crafts, Hobbies & Home, Nature & Wildlife, Sports & Outdoors, Science & Math, Professional & Technical. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Weeds
All: 7 | Positive: 6 | Negative: 1

NY Times

Above average
Reviewed by Elizabeth Royte on Jul 29 2011

Mabey has come to terms with the plants he seeks out in dumps but also laboriously rakes, chops, sifts and sieves from his garden. The dichotomy, one suspects, is more delectable than the ­digging.

Read Full Review of Weeds | See more reviews from NY Times

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by Bella Bathurst on Oct 09 2010

Mabey's amble through the low-level, high-rise world of weeds is rich in lore and usefulness. 

Read Full Review of Weeds | See more reviews from Guardian

Blog Critics

Excellent
Reviewed by Natalie Bennett on May 27 2012

The kind of wisdom he brings to Weeds desperately needs to inform the direction of agricultural science.

Read Full Review of Weeds | See more reviews from Blog Critics

The Washington Post

Excellent
Reviewed by Amy Stewart on Jul 08 2011

Mabey is at his best when he takes us along on his own weedy adventures.

Read Full Review of Weeds

The Independent

Excellent
Reviewed by Peter Marren on Oct 29 2010

Read this quietly enthralling book and you will never again look at these most familiar plants in quite the same way.

Read Full Review of Weeds

The Telegraph

Excellent
Reviewed by Brian Dillon on Oct 29 2010

And Mabey’s ambiguous ode teaches us they will be around to inspire and unnerve us no matter how rigorous we are with the weed-killer and the hoe.

Read Full Review of Weeds

The Seattle Times

Excellent
Reviewed by Mary Foster on Aug 06 2011

Mabey can spin both frightening yarns about some species and laugh-out-loud stories about his adventures in the wonderful world of weeds.

Read Full Review of Weeds

Reader Rating for Weeds
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 27 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×