When the Garden Was Eden by Harvey Araton
Clyde, the Captain, Dollar Bill, and the Glory Days of the New York Knicks

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

There is more to this book than a recounting of glorious performances by the Old Knicks. Mr. Araton writes about the struggles of black players, many brought up in the segregated South, and the battles for a pension plan.
-WSJ online

Synopsis

In the tradition of The Boys of Summer and The Bronx Is Burning, New York Times sports columnist Harvey Araton delivers a fascinating look at the 1970s New York Knicks—part autobiography, part sports history, part epic, set against the tumultuous era when Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, and Bill Bradley reigned supreme in the world of basketball. Perfect for readers of Jeff Pearlman’s The Bad Guys Won!, Peter Richmond’s Badasses, and Pat Williams’s Coach Wooden, Araton’s revealing story of the Knicks’ heyday is far more than a review of one of basketball’s greatest teams’ inspiring story—it is, at heart, a stirring recreation of a time and place when the NBA championships defined the national dream.
 

About Harvey Araton

See more books from this Author
Harvey Araton joined the New York Times as a sports reporter and national basketball columnist in 1991 and became a "Sports of the Times" columnist in 1994. He is the author of numerous books, including most recently, When the Garden Was Eden: Clyde, the Captain, Dollar Bill, and the Glory Days of the Old Knicks. His work has also appeared in the New York Times Magazine, GQ, ESPN The Magazine, Sport, Tennis, and Basketball Weekly. Born in New York City in 1952, he is a 1975 graduate of the City University of New York. Araton lives in Montclair, New Jersey.
 
Published October 18, 2011 by Harper. 389 pages
Genres: History, Sports & Outdoors. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for When the Garden Was Eden
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

WSJ online

Above average
Reviewed by Irwin Stelzer on Oct 22 2011

There is more to this book than a recounting of glorious performances by the Old Knicks. Mr. Araton writes about the struggles of black players, many brought up in the segregated South, and the battles for a pension plan.

Read Full Review of When the Garden Was Eden: Cly... | See more reviews from WSJ online

Reader Rating for When the Garden Was Eden
79%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 72 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×