Where I Live Now by Sharon Butala
A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The title avoids the word "home" to draw us to the writer's growing sense that home is the self, simply "where I live now."
-Globe and Mail

Synopsis

An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss.

“It was a terrible life; it was an enchanted life; it was a blessed life. And, of course, one day it ended.” —Sharon Butala

In the tradition of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking, Diana Athill’s Somewhere Towards the End, and Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal comes a revelatory new book from one of our beloved writers.

When Sharon Butala’s husband, Peter, died unexpectedly, she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief and loss, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving almost everything behind. A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books, clothes, and keepsakes. But a lifetime of experience went with her, and a limitless well of memory—of personal failures, of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did, of the unbreakable bonds of family.

Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her new life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this hard-won new existence comes an astonishingly frank, compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss.

Often called one of this country’s true visionaries, Sharon Butala shares her insights into the grieving process and reveals the small triumphs and funny moments that kept her going. Where I Live Now is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime.
 

About Sharon Butala

See more books from this Author
 
Published April 4, 2017 by Simon & Schuster. 192 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Where I Live Now
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Globe and Mail

Above average
Reviewed by Alix Hawley on Apr 21 2017

The title avoids the word "home" to draw us to the writer's growing sense that home is the self, simply "where I live now."

Read Full Review of Where I Live Now: A Journey t... | See more reviews from Globe and Mail

Rate this book!

Add Review
×