Where the Game Matters Most by William Gildea
A Last Championship Season in Indiana High School Basketball

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In the tradition of "Hoop Dreams, The Last Shot", and "Friday Night Lights", a noted sportswriter captures high school basketball at its most intense--and brings to life the final year of Indiana's famous all-state tournament of photos Targeted ads & author tour.
 

About William Gildea

See more books from this Author
William Gildea is a sportswriter for the Washington Post.
 
Published December 8, 1997 by Little, Brown and Company. 240 pages
Genres: Sports & Outdoors. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Where the Game Matters Most

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

In Indiana, Gildea shows, the yearly high-school basketball tournament is nothing less than an affirmation of the Hoosier way of life, one made of ``industrious, hospitable, down-home folk who enjoy popcorn, race cars and BASKETBALL.'' Every year since 1911, all high schools--from small tow...

| Read Full Review of Where the Game Matters Most: ...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

From 1911 to 1997, every high school in Indiana participated in the state basketball championship;

| Read Full Review of Where the Game Matters Most: ...

Reader Rating for Where the Game Matters Most
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 11 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review