Where the Shadows Lie by Michael Ridpath

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



An ancient saga. A modern legend. A secret worth killing for.

Amid Iceland’s wild, volcanic landscape, rumors swirl of an ancient manuscript inscribed with a long-lost saga about a ring of terrible power. A rediscovered saga alone would be worth a fortune, but, if the rumors can be believed, there is something much more valuable about this one. Something worth killing for. Something that will cost Professor Agnar Haraldsson his life.

Untangling murder from myth is Iceland-born, Boston-raised detective Magnus Jonson. On loan to the Icelandic Police Force for his own protection after a Massachusetts drug cartel puts a bounty on his head, Magnus is eager work the Haraldsson case, a rare lethal crime for the island nation.  But his unorthodox investigative technique soon gets him into trouble with his more traditional superiors, intensifying his mixed feelings about returning to his native country—a place of tangled family loyalties haunted by his father’s unsolved murder—after nearly two decades. And as Magnus is about to discover, the past casts a long shadow in Iceland.

Binding Iceland’s landscape and history, secrets and superstitions in a strikingly original plot in the tradition of Arnaldur Indridason and Henning Mankell, Where the Shadows Lie is a heart-pounding new series from an established master.


About Michael Ridpath

See more books from this Author
MICHAEL RIDPATH spent eight years as a bond trader in London before giving up his job to write full-time.  He is the bestselling author of eight financial thrillers and has been published in 38 languages.  Where the Shadows Lie is the first in a new series featuring detective Magnus Jonson.  He lives in north London with his wife and three children. Visit him online at www.michaelridpath.com.
Published August 2, 2011 by Minotaur Books. 351 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Where the Shadows Lie

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

As Pedro Soto patiently follows leads in Boston that will bring him closer and closer to the witness he must silence, Magnus, digging deeper into the family background of gallery owner Ingileif Ásgrímsdóttir, Agnar’s former student and former lover, finds that the lusts for sex, wealth and power ...

Jul 01 2011 | Read Full Review of Where the Shadows Lie

The Bookbag

I had slight personal reservations (3½ personal stars, or 4 if you're at least neutral about the sagas) about this book but I'll definitely be looking to read the next book in the series and I'd like to thank the publishers for sending Where the Shadows Lie to the Bookbag.

Jun 01 2012 | Read Full Review of Where the Shadows Lie

Reviewing the Evidence

So Magnus – soon to be known once more by his real name of Magnús Ragnarsson – is reluctantly on his way back to the land of his fathers.

| Read Full Review of Where the Shadows Lie

Reader Rating for Where the Shadows Lie

An aggregated and normalized score based on 26 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review