Wicked City by Alaya Johnson

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

And once the forces get whirling, the book becomes a page-turning delight.
-Historical Novel Society


"Fans of Stephanie Meyer and Charlaine Harris will be engaged by Johnson's light, tongue-in-cheek approach."―Publishers Weekly

In Wicked City, the page-turning follow up to Moonshine, it's summer in the city and most vampires are drunk on the blood-based intoxicant Faust. The mayor has tied his political fortunes to legalizing the brew, but Zephyr Hollis has dedicated herself to the cause of Faust prohibition--at least when she isn't knocking back sidecars in speakeasies.

But the game changes when dozens of vampires end up in the city morgue after drinking Faust. Are they succumbing to natural causes, or have they been deliberately poisoned? When an anonymous tip convinces the police of her guilt, Zephyr has to save her reputation, her freedom and possibly her life. Someone is after her blood--and this time it isn't a vampire.

In a New York City populated by flappers and vampires, debutantes and djinn, it's best to watch your back. You never know what's lurking in the shadows.


About Alaya Johnson

See more books from this Author
Alaya Johnson is a recent Columbia graduate, and denizen of New York City.
Published April 10, 2012 by Thomas Dunne Books. 320 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Wicked City
All: 4 | Positive: 4 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Jan 02 2012

Her sleuthing is engaging enough, but the real fun lies in the little details of Johnson’s imagined world.

Read Full Review of Wicked City | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Historical Novel Society

Reviewed by Eileen Charbbond on May 01 2012

And once the forces get whirling, the book becomes a page-turning delight.

Read Full Review of Wicked City

Night Owl Paranormal

Reviewed by Terri on Apr 19 2012

Though it’s in a historical setting, the story itself feels fresh, new and vibrant.

Read Full Review of Wicked City

Bitten by Books

Reviewed by Carol on Apr 24 2012

Johnson’s smooth style and Zephyr’s distinct voice infuse the narrative with an effortless quality that makes the reader feel as though they are right there in the midst of the action, not just reading about the events.

Read Full Review of Wicked City

Reader Rating for Wicked City

An aggregated and normalized score based on 6 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Arianna Snow

Arianna Snow 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Katie Thomson

Katie Thomson 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list