Wild Stars Seeking Midnight Suns by J. California Cooper

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



J. California Cooper’s irresistible collection of new stories explores the universal themes of romance, family, and the hopes that propel people’s dreams. In “As Time Goes By” a young woman singlemindedly pursues material wealth, only to suffer from an empty heart. “Catch a Falling Heart” tells of a slyly arranged marriage, and “The Eye of the Beholder” portrays a plain girl’s search for love and her own brand of freedom. Wise, earthy and intimate, these stories are moving parables of the human need to seek some sort of satisfaction, just as a wild star seeks a midnight sun.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

About J. California Cooper

See more books from this Author
J. CALIFORNIA COOPER is the author of the novels Family and In Search of Satisfaction, and of several short-story collections: Homemade Love, the winner of the 1989 American Book Award; A Piece of Mine; The Future Has a Past; Some Love, Some Pain, Sometime; The Matter Is Life; and Some Soul to Keep. She is also the author of seventeen plays and has been honored as Black Playwright of the Year. She lives in northern California.
Published December 18, 2007 by Anchor. 209 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Wild Stars Seeking Midnight Suns

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

What unifies and deepens these stories is the impish, ever-forgiving but gently judgmental narrator who doesn’t hold herself above the all-too-human impulse to share some really good gossip, as in “The Party,” a story about an evening at a nightclub that turns into an after-hours orgy.

| Read Full Review of Wild Stars Seeking Midnight S...

Reader Rating for Wild Stars Seeking Midnight Suns

An aggregated and normalized score based on 40 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review