Wilderness Tips by Margaret Atwood

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



In each of these tales Margaret Atwood deftly illuminates the single instant that shapes a whole life: in a few brief pages we watch as characters progress from the vulnerabilities of adolescence through the passions of youth into the precarious complexities of middle age.  By superimposing the past on the present, Atwood paints interior landscapes shaped by time, regret, and life's lost chances, endowing even the banal with a sense of mystery.  Richly layered and disturbing, poignant at times and scathingly witty at others, the stories in Wilderness Tips take us into the strange and secret places of the heart and inform the familiar world in which we live with truths that cut to the bone.

Margaret Atwood is the author of over twenty-five books, including fiction, poetry, and essays.  Among her most recent works are the bestselling novels Alias Grace and The Robber Bride and the collections Wilderness Tips and Good Bones and Simple Murders.  She lives in Toronto.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

About Margaret Atwood

See more books from this Author
Born November 18, 1939, in Ottawa, Canada, Margaret Atwood spent her early years in the northern Quebec wilderness. Settling in Toronto in 1946, she continued to spend summers in the northern woods. This experience provided much of the thematic material for her verse. She began her writing career as a poet, short story writer, cartoonist, and reviewer for her high school paper. She received a B.A. from Victoria College, University of Toronto in 1961 and an M.A. from Radcliff College in 1962. Atwood's first book of verse, Double Persephone, was published in 1961 and was awarded the E. J. Pratt Medal. She has published numerous books of poetry, novels, story collections, critical work, juvenile work, and radio and teleplays. Her works include The Journals of Susanna Moodie (1970), Power Politics (1971), Cat's Eye (1986), The Robber Bride (1993), Morning in the Buried House (1995), and Alias Grace (1996). Many of her works focus on women's issues. She has won numerous awards for her poetry and fiction including the Prince of Asturias award for Literature, the Booker Prize, the Governor General's Award in 1966 for The Circle Game and in 1986 for The Handmaid's Tale, which also won the very first Arthur C. Clarke Award in 1987.
Published June 8, 2011 by Anchor. 242 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Education & Reference, Cooking, History, Arts & Photography. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Wilderness Tips

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The author's trademark smirk behind the economical prose can be wearying over the course of an entire collection, but taken separately, the pieces here are solid evidence of the author in full form.

| Read Full Review of Wilderness Tips

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In both ``The Bog Man'' (the least successful tale, as here Atwood uncharacteristically veers toward melodrama) and ``The Age of Lead'' a body uncovered long after death serves as a metaphor for buried desires, opportunities and hopes.

| Read Full Review of Wilderness Tips

Entertainment Weekly

If there's a mood common to the stories in Margaret Atwood's new collection, Wilderness Tips , it's archaeological — things keep getting dug up: The well-preserved body of a sailor, dead 150 years, frozen in the Arctic tundra (''The Age of Lead'');

Dec 13 1991 | Read Full Review of Wilderness Tips

Entertainment Weekly

A Originally posted Mar 19, 1993 Published in issue #162 Mar 19, 1993 Order article reprints

| Read Full Review of Wilderness Tips

Reader Rating for Wilderness Tips

An aggregated and normalized score based on 29 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review