Willful Blindness by Margaret Heffernan

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Margaret Heffernan argues that the biggest threats and dangers we face are the ones we don't see--not because they're secret or invisible, but because we're willfully blind. A distinguished businesswoman and writer, she examines the phenomenon and traces its imprint in our private and working lives, and within governments and organizations, and asks: What makes us prefer ignorance? What are we so afraid of? Why do some people see more than others? And how can we change?Covering everything from our choice of mates to the SEC, Bernard Madoff's investors, the embers of BP's refinery, the military in Afghanistan, and the dog-eat-dog world of subprime mortgage lenders, this provocative book demonstrates how failing to see--or admit to ourselves or our colleagues--the issues and problems in plain sight can ruin private lives and bring down corporations. Heffernan explains how willful blindness develops before exploring ways that institutions and individuals can combat it. In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Margaret Heffernan's Willful Blindness is a tour de force on human behavior that will open your eyes.
 

About Margaret Heffernan

See more books from this Author
Margaret Heffernan, former CEO of several interactive media companies, blogs for BNET and the Huffington Post. She is the author of The Naked Truth and How She Does It, and lives in New Hampshire and England. Visit her Web site at www.mheffernan.com.
 
Published March 1, 2011 by Walker Books. 304 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, Health, Fitness & Dieting, Professional & Technical, Science & Math, Political & Social Sciences, Self Help. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Willful Blindness

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Former CEO turned blogger explores the reasons why we don't or won't see what we should.

Apr 04 2011 | Read Full Review of Willful Blindness

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

“What are the forces at work that make us deny the big threats that stare us in the face?” Margaret Heffernan asks in her book, a look at how we may filter information for better or worse.

Apr 02 2011 | Read Full Review of Willful Blindness

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

“What are the forces at work that make us deny the big threats that stare us in the face?” Margaret Heffernan asks in her book, a look at how we may filter information for better or worse.

Apr 02 2011 | Read Full Review of Willful Blindness

Macleans

Yet, many professionals and mental illness systems world wide still blindly cling to old time assumptions that spring from decades-old unproved ideas of people who had no scientific knowledge or training, like Mr. Freud , and his loyal apostles who twist and turn reason upside down to conform...

Apr 19 2011 | Read Full Review of Willful Blindness

Spirituality & Practice

Heffernan concludes that "while willful blindness may be a part of the human condition, it need not define who we are."

| Read Full Review of Willful Blindness

http://www.truth-out.org

So I suspect if you have greater and greater levels of inequality and steeper and steeper hierarchies, the people at the bottom don't believe the system will work - and it probably doesn't - and the people at the top think they can do whatever they want and nobody is going to catch them, and they...

Jun 04 2015 | Read Full Review of Willful Blindness

Reader Rating for Willful Blindness
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 50 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×