Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Like fruit from the Goblin Market: luscious at first bite but ultimately overripe, cloying, and empty.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Dark, romantic and unforgettable, this riveting debut for fans of Labyrinth and Naomi Novik tells the fantastical story of a young woman's journey towards love and acceptance

Deep in his terrifying realm underground, the cold and forbidding Goblin King casts a dark shadow over nineteen-year-old Liesl. Her grandmother had always warned her to follow the old laws, for every year on the longest night of winter the Goblin King will emerge into the waking world in search of his eternal bride. Sensible and plain, Liesl knows it's her duty to keep her beautiful sister safe from harm, but she wishes only to indulge in her wild, captivating music, composed and played in secret in the Goblin King's honor.

When her beautiful sister Käthe is stolen by the Goblin King, Liesl knows she must set aside her childish fantasies to journey to the Underground and save her. Drawn despite herself to the strange, beautiful world she finds--and the mysterious man who rules it--she finds herself facing an impossible choice. With time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Set at the turn of the 19th century, when young upstart composers like Beethoven were forever altering the sound of music, S. Jae-Jones' richly imagined debut spins a spellbinding tale of music, love, sisterhood, and a young woman's search for self-actualization.
 

About S. Jae-Jones

See more books from this Author
S. Jae-Jones (called JJ) is an artist, an adrenaline junkie, and erstwhile editrix. When not obsessing over books, she can be found jumping out of perfectly good airplanes, co-hosting the Pub(lishing) Crawl podcast, or playing dress-up. Born and raised in Los Angeles, she now lives in North Carolina, as well as many other places on the internet, including Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook, Instagram, and her blog.
 
Published February 7, 2017 by Thomas Dunne Books. 448 pages
Genres: History, Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Wintersong
All: 2 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 2

Kirkus

Below average
on Nov 02 2016

Like fruit from the Goblin Market: luscious at first bite but ultimately overripe, cloying, and empty.

Read Full Review of Wintersong: A Novel | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Below average
on Aug 24 2017

The plot meanders, the stakes are ill-defined, and the characters lack depth and verisimilitude, keeping the book from reaching its full potential.

Read Full Review of Wintersong: A Novel | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for Wintersong
62%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 5 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×