Wish Lanterns by
Inside the Young Lives of China

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

How those spirits will coexist with the preservation of a People’s Republic that bears distinct resemblances to the empires of old is a major question for our times, for which this book supplies much food for thought, informing the wider debate while retaining its value as a closely observed picture of how some Chinese live today.
-Financial Times

Synopsis

The youth are the generation that will change China. There are over 320 million in their teens and twenties, more than the population of the USA. Born after Mao, natives of a nation on the rise, they are destined to have an unprecedented influence on global affairs.These millennials, offspring of the only child policy, face fierce competition and pressure to succeed. Dislocated from their country's tumultuous past, they are caught between tradition and modernity. Their struggles are also the same as those of young people all over the world: moving out of home, starting a career, falling in love.Wish Lanterns tells the stories of six young Chinese. Dahai is a military child and a rebel; 'Fred' is a daughter of the Party. Lucifer is an aspiring superstar; Snail a country migrant addicted to online gaming. Xiaoxiao is a hipster from the freezing north; and Mia a skinhead fashionista from Xinjiang in the far west.Alec Ash, a writer in Beijing of the same generation, has given us a vivid, gripping account of young China as it comes of age. Through individual lives, Wish Lanterns shows with empathy and insight the conflicts and challenges, dreams and wishes of China's - and the world's - future. It is a vibrant and intimate book, for readers of Katherine Boo's Behind the Beautiful Forevers and Barbara Demick's Nothing to Envy.
 

About the Author

Alec Ash is a writer and journalist in Beijing.He studied English literature at Oxford University. After graduating he taught in a Tibetan village in western China for a summer, before moving to Beijing in 2008.His articles have been published in The Economist, Prospect, Dissent and Foreign Policy among others. He is a correspondent for the Los Angeles Review of Books, a contributing author to the book of reportage Chinese Characters, and founder of the Anthill, a writers' colony of stories from China.Twitter: @alecash
 
Published April 4, 2017 by Arcade Publishing. 304 pages
Genres: History, Political & Social Sciences, Travel.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Wish Lanterns
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Financial Times

Good
Reviewed by Jonathan Fenby on May 27 2016

How those spirits will coexist with the preservation of a People’s Republic that bears distinct resemblances to the empires of old is a major question for our times, for which this book supplies much food for thought, informing the wider debate while retaining its value as a closely observed picture of how some Chinese live today.

Read Full Review of Wish Lanterns: Inside the You... | See more reviews from Financial Times

Financial Times

Good
Reviewed by Jonathan Fenby on May 27 2016

Alec Ash’s book is a fine addition to the field, one of the best I have read about the individuals who make up a country that is all too often regarded as a monolith, but which abounds in diversity on multiple levels.

Read Full Review of Wish Lanterns: Inside the You... | See more reviews from Financial Times

Rate this book!

Add Review