Witch Hunt by Syd Moore

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Moore's merging of horror, ghost story, detective fiction and psychogeography is a heady addition to Jeanette Winterson's book about the witches of Pendle and increasingly popular genre mash-ups.
-Guardian

Synopsis

A chilling, haunting ghost story that delves into the dark past of the 16th century Essex witch trials.

Sadie Asquith has been fascinated by the dark past of Essex’s witch hunts for as long as she can remember. And for good reason: between 1560 and 1680, over 500 women were tried for witchcraft in the county of Essex. But as she researches a book on the subject, Sadie experiences strange, ghostly visions. She hears noises at night, a sobbing sound that follows her, and black moths appear from nowhere. It’s as if, by digging up the truth about the witch hunts, she has opened an unearthly connection to the women treated so cruelly and killed centuries before.

And something else in the modern world is after her too: Sadie is sure she’s being followed, her flat is burgled and she finds clues that reveal her own past isn’t all that she believed. Can she find peace for the witches of Essex’s history and can she find a safe path for herself?

For fans of Christopher Ransom and Susan Hill.

So scary you’ll sleep with the lights on…

 

About Syd Moore

See more books from this Author
Syd Moore has worked extensively in publishing and the book trade and presented Channel 4’s late night book programme, Pulp.
 
Published October 11, 2012 by Avon. 449 pages
Genres: Horror, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Witch Hunt
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Cathi Unsworth on Oct 16 2012

Moore's merging of horror, ghost story, detective fiction and psychogeography is a heady addition to Jeanette Winterson's book about the witches of Pendle and increasingly popular genre mash-ups.

Read Full Review of Witch Hunt | See more reviews from Guardian

Reader Rating for Witch Hunt
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 16 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review