With the End in Mind by Kathryn Mannix
Dying, Death, and Wisdom in an Age of Denial

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

An inspiring book on an always-difficult subject. Though for American readers the care facilities and specific treatments provided in the U.K. may differ, the personal stories will have universal resonance.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, a palliative care doctor's breathtaking stories from 30 years spent caring for the dying.

Modern medical technology is allowing us to live longer and fuller lives than ever before. And for the most part, that is good news. But with changes in the way we understand medicine come changes in the way we understand death. Once a familiar, peaceful, and gentle -- if sorrowful -- transition, death has come to be something from which we shield our eyes, as we prefer to fight desperately against it rather than accept its inevitability.

Dr. Kathryn Mannix has studied and practiced palliative care for thirty years. In With the End in Mind, she shares beautifully crafted stories from a lifetime of caring for the dying, and makes a compelling case for the therapeutic power of approaching death not with trepidation, but with openness, clarity, and understanding. Weaving the details of her own experiences as a caregiver through stories of her patients, their families, and their distinctive lives, Dr. Mannix reacquaints us with the universal, but deeply personal, process of dying.

With insightful meditations on life, death, and the space between them, With the End in Mind describes the possibility of meeting death gently, with forethought and preparation, and shows the unexpected beauty, dignity, and profound humanity of life coming to an end.

 

About Kathryn Mannix

See more books from this Author
 
Published January 16, 2018 by Little, Brown and Company. 352 pages
Genres: Self Help, Parenting & Relationships. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for With the End in Mind
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Oct 30 2017

An inspiring book on an always-difficult subject. Though for American readers the care facilities and specific treatments provided in the U.K. may differ, the personal stories will have universal resonance.

Read Full Review of With the End in Mind: Dying, ... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review