Words In The Dust by Trent Reedy

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



In the tradition of SHABANU, DAUGHTER OF THE WIND and THE BREADWINNER, a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.

Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her--"Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to her village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha--but can she dare to hope they'll come true?

About Trent Reedy

See more books from this Author
Trent Reedy is the author of WORDS IN THE DUST, an Al Roker's Book Club pick on the Today Show. Born and raised in Iowa, where he taught high school English, Trent and his wife now live in Spokane, Washington. Please visit his website at www.trentreedy.com.
Published March 1, 2013 by Arthur A. Levine Books. 277 pages
Genres: Travel, Children's Books, Religion & Spirituality, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Words In The Dust

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Drawing from personal experiences in Afghanistan, Reedy creates a multidimensional heroine who introspectively reflects on how to “be patient enough to forget all the ugliness and focus on .

| Read Full Review of Words In The Dust


The Americans in this book scared Zulaikha a bit because they all acted nice in a way that felt like, “Oh this girl’s life must be terrible in every way.

Mar 01 2013 | Read Full Review of Words In The Dust

Birmingham Public Library

Zulaikha is on an emotional roller-coaster as she copes with her sister's upcoming wedding as fourth wife to an uncaring older man, and her hopes and dreams are dashed when there's a problem with the helicopter flight that is supposed to take her to the doctor.

Oct 19 2012 | Read Full Review of Words In The Dust

Teen Voices

The Taliban have just been driven out of Afghanistan and 13-year-old Zulaikha has hope that peace will come, not only in her country, but in her life as well.

Dec 14 2011 | Read Full Review of Words In The Dust

Reader Rating for Words In The Dust

An aggregated and normalized score based on 30 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review