Wrong Man Running by Alan Hruska

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



At the beginning of this compelling novel, Rick Corinth—driven careerist, brilliant prosecutor, and the heir apparent to the district attorney’s job in Manhattan—is assigned a case involving a series of increasingly sadistic rapes. When the victims, all prominent women at the acme of their careers, begin identifying Corinth as their assailant, he takes flight.

No one who knows him well believes him capable of committing such shocking crimes, including his ex-wife. His children, made to suffer at school, are hurt and confused. And yet the evidence against him keeps mounting. When his ex-wife is herself sexually attacked, she in turn pegs Corinth as the culprit.

Attorney-turned-novelist Alan Hruska’s Wrong Man Running is the story of Corinth’s frantic search to find the man he thinks framed him and the psychological challenges of confronting the possibility that he might be liable for the heinous rapes several women have claimed he committed. Sharp and haunting, Hruska masterfully ratchets up the suspense in this deftly written novel, penning a taut legal thriller in the vein of Scott Turow and John Grisham.


About Alan Hruska

See more books from this Author
Alan Hruska is a native of New York and a graduate of Yale University and Yale Law School. He worked as a trial lawyer until 2002, representing both public and private clients, all the while nourishing his love of the arts. His first novel, Borrowed Time, was published by Dial Press in 1986, and he cofounded Soho Press, for which he serves as chairman of the board. In 2002 he began writing and directing movies including Nola, The Warrior Class, and Reunion. His 2005 off-Broadway revival of Waiting for Godot earned favorable reviews from the New York Times, the New York Post, and Village Voice. His own plays include New House Under Construction and Ring Twice for Miranda. Wrong Man Running is his second novel.
Published November 22, 2011 by Thomas & Mercer. 348 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Wrong Man Running

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

With his career in the toilet and his arrest only hours away despite his unexpectedly torrid friendship with Betsy Spaeth, the head detective on the case, Rick does what any red-blooded citizen would do: empties his bank account, flees the city and resolves to find the rapist who’s evidently take...

Jun 01 2011 | Read Full Review of Wrong Man Running

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Lawyer Eric Corinth has returned to the Manhattan district attorney's office from private practice to serve as the Chief Assistant DA, but things start falling apart for him after he's given a rape case to handle.

May 02 2011 | Read Full Review of Wrong Man Running

Reader Rating for Wrong Man Running

An aggregated and normalized score based on 37 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review