Zach Apologizes by William Mulcahy
(Zach Rules Series)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



When Zach shoves his little brother to the floor, he knows he did something wrong. Even so, it’s hard to apologize—especially when Alex kind of deserved it! Like any seven-year-old, Zach tries to ignore the problem, but finally, with his mom’s help, he learns the four steps to apologizing: 1) say what you did; 2) say how it made the other person feel; 3) say what you could have done instead; 4) make it up to the person. The apology strategy is presented as the “four-square” apology, which is illustrated as a square divided into four quarters with a prompt in each. Easy to understand and easy to remember.


Zach Rules Series

Zach, his brothers Alex and Scott, and his parents are a typical family. The boys struggle with getting along, frustrations, social issues, and other everyday problems typical with kids ages 5 to 8. Each book in the Zach Rules series presents a single, simple storyline involving one such problem. The stories are humorous and realistic (these boys are not angels), and Darren McKee’s illustrations add a lighthearted, commercial appeal that kids will find familiar and fun. As each story develops, Zach and readers learn straightforward tools for coping with their struggles and growing up healthier—healthier because children who know these skills have the potential for building stronger relationships now and in the future. The tools are presented graphically to make them easier to understand and remember. Kids will enjoy the familiar, funny stories and easily grasp the important life skills. Each book concludes with a short note to adults to help parents, teachers, counselors, and other grown-ups reinforce the books’ messages and practice the skills with their kids.


About William Mulcahy

See more books from this Author
William Mulcahy is a licensed professional counselor, psychotherapist, and supervisor of the Cooperative Parenting Center at Family Service in Waukesha, Wisconsin. Previously he has served as a counselor at Stillwaters Cancer Support Services in Wisconsin, specializing in grief and cancer-related issues, and worked with children with special needs. Bill's short stories have appeared in serveral publications. The Zach Rules series books are his first books for children, merging his passions for good storytelling and providing counseling-like tools to help children live healthier, happier lives. Bill lives in Summit, Wisconsin, with his three sons who played their own role in the creation of the Zach Rules series. Darren McKee has illustrated books for many publishers over his twenty-year career. When not working, he spends his time riding his bike, reading, drawing, and traveling. He lives in Dallas, Texas, with his wife Debbie.
Published April 2, 2012 by Free Spirit Publishing. 32 pages
Genres: Children's Books.

Unrated Critic Reviews for Zach Apologizes

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Yes No By clicking on "Submit"...

May 01 2012 | Read Full Review of Zach Apologizes (Zach Rules S...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Counselor and psychotherapist Mulcahy makes his children’s-book debut with the Zach Rules series, designed to give kids some coping tools for working through everyday problems.

Apr 15 2012 | Read Full Review of Zach Apologizes (Zach Rules S...

Reader Rating for Zach Apologizes

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review