Zinsky the Obscure by Ilan Mochari

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

By the age of 30, the unlikable Zinsky has built himself a shallow, sterile existence with little prospects of future joy. Mochari's debut novel is both bleak and affecting.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

Thirty-year-old Manhattan bachelor Ariel Zinsky is still recovering from his abusive childhood when he realizes no one -- including his few living relatives -- is truly interested in his narrative. While they numb themselves with the latest celebrity rehab story or the third-world atrocities replayed without ceasing on cable news, he sets out to write his autobiography as an exercise in his own self-medication, recasting himself as the hero in a coming-of-age story. Fans of A CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES and THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER will relate to this tale of overcoming your childhood's traumas, and the world's indifference to them.
 

About Ilan Mochari

See more books from this Author
Zinsky the Obscure is Ilan Mochari's first novel. His short stories have appeared or are forthcoming in Keyhole, Stymie, Oysters & Chocolate, and Ruthie's Club. Another short story, The Father I Knew, was a finalist in a Glimmer Train competition. In 2009 he received a Literature Artist Fellowship grant from the Somerville Arts Council. Born in 1975 in New York City, Mochari currently lives in the Boston area, where he is drafting his next novel. He is a contributor to the MIT Sloan Management Review and the Editor of Somerville Scout magazine. In the years when he was working on Zinsky the Obscure, he waited tables at several restaurants and freelanced for CFO, Fortune Small Business, and the fantasy sports site KFFL.com. Prior to that, he was a staff writer for Inc magazine. Ilan is a graduate of Yale University, where he studied under Harold Bloom and Kate Walbert.
 
Published April 14, 2013 by Fomite. 363 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Zinsky the Obscure
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Apr 01 2013

By the age of 30, the unlikable Zinsky has built himself a shallow, sterile existence with little prospects of future joy. Mochari's debut novel is both bleak and affecting.

Read Full Review of Zinsky the Obscure | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for Zinsky the Obscure
95%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 20 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review