More Like Her by Liza Palmer

58%

17 Critic Reviews

the second half of the book suffers as the incompatible tones of the two story lines grate against each other.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

A brilliant, hilarious, and touching story from the author of Conversations with the Fat Girl, Liza Palmer’s More Like Her is smart, funny, though-provoking women’s fiction in the vein of Emily Giffin, Marian Keyes, Meg Cabot, and Jane Green. More Like Her is the story of a seemingly perfect woman who’s the envy of her friends, neighbors, and co-workers…until the life of the object of their jealousy spectacularly, unexpectedly, and disastrously explodes. A novel of secrets, disappointments, false impressions—and what really goes on behind those suburban picket fences—More Like Her is ultimately about facing reality and appreciating everything that life has to offer.
 

About Liza Palmer

See more books from this Author
Liza Palmer is the author of the international bestseller Conversations with the Fat Girl, as well as Seeing Me Naked, A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents, and More Like Her. An Emmy-nominated writer, she lives in Los Angeles, California, and is hard at work on her next novel and several film and television projects.
 
Published April 17, 2012 by William Morrow Paperbacks. 336 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
3
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for More Like Her
All: 17 | Positive: 10 | Negative: 7

Kirkus

Excellent
Apr 02 2012

Palmer brings wit and wisdom to her tale of love, damage and self-acceptance.

Read Full Review of More Like Her | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Below average
Feb 20 2012

the second half of the book suffers as the incompatible tones of the two story lines grate against each other.

Read Full Review of More Like Her | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Examiner

Excellent
Reviewed by Amber McManus on Apr 24 2012

a book that is so good, it makes you change the way you think... More Like Her is literally one of the best novels I have read in a very long time.

Read Full Review of More Like Her

Leeswammes' Blog

Below average
Reviewed by Judith on May 03 2012

I didn’t find the characters 100% convincing in the aftermath of the ordeal they went through... seem to play their role only when it suited the particular storyline that was focused on at any time.

Read Full Review of More Like Her

Peeking Between the Pages

Good
Reviewed by Darlene on May 10 2012

I found More Like Her to be a book that I had trouble putting down and finished in a day. It grabs you from the first page and doesn’t let go until the last page. Well worth reading and highly recommended!

Read Full Review of More Like Her

Kritters Ramblings

Below average
Apr 19 2012

I wasn't immediately hooked to any of the female characters... Throughout the book there was a lot of internal dialogue that sometimes repeated things that the reader already knew

Read Full Review of More Like Her

The Romance Dish

Good
Reviewed by Janga on Apr 29 2012

this author has a deft hand with characterization. The characters have a solid reality... If you like books that move you out of your comfort zone... I recommend you read this book... It’s worth it.

Read Full Review of More Like Her

A Musing Reviews

Below average
Reviewed by Nancy on Apr 23 2012

there is a lot of dialogue I struggled to get through. Jill and Frannie have their own language and understanding of one another... I didn't feel like I knew them well enough to finish their thoughts... It's also a little slow at times and transitions were not clear for me.

Read Full Review of More Like Her

Reads 4 Pleasure

Below average

A disjointed story line and unlikable characters made this a difficult read.

Read Full Review of More Like Her

Book Equals

Good
Reviewed by Kristin Elizabeth on May 10 2012

gripping, gut-wrenching moment so powerful that the rest of the book is fueled by the emotions it invokes... Palmer brings them to life with her inexhaustible wit, yet gives each of them an individual personality,

Read Full Review of More Like Her

The Book Chick

Good
Reviewed by Jonita on May 09 2012

an excellent book. It is a page-turner, impossible to put down, and it is incredibly well-written... More Like Her had me riveted from the first page until the very last.

Read Full Review of More Like Her

Knitting and Sundries

Below average
Reviewed by Julie on May 08 2012

The writing in this one felt almost frenetic - there were huge jumps in thought and dialogue which sometimes even made it feel fractured.

Read Full Review of More Like Her

Small World Reads Blog

Good
Reviewed by Sarah Small on Apr 27 2012

Liza Palmer is chick lit without the fluff and feathers. She knows real people. Her characters are people we know—are us— and they talk like real people, too. If you haven't read her, check her out!

Read Full Review of More Like Her

I Write in Books

Good
Apr 18 2012

Liza Palmer does well in addressing the emotional complexity of abuse on all levels

Read Full Review of More Like Her

No More Grumpy Bookseller Blog

Good
Reviewed by Becky LeJeune on May 25 2012

Liza Palmer maintains a delicate balance between the horrors of spousal abuse and Frannie's self discovery... Palmer does a good job creating both a story that draws the reader in and a heroine that is ultimately relatable.

Read Full Review of More Like Her

1776 Books

Below average
Reviewed by Kelly on Apr 02 2012

Frannie’s monologues weigh More Like Her down. More action and less talking would probably make things more interesting

Read Full Review of More Like Her

Chloe's Chick Lit Reviews Blog

Good
Reviewed by Chloe on Jan 25 2012

Palmer's writing style was a joy to read too, slowly unfolding the story... If you want chick lit with a difference, something that packs a bit of a punch and is a meaty read, then look no further than a copy of More Like Her.

Read Full Review of More Like Her

Reader Rating for More Like Her
72%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 114 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Jennifer Torres

Jennifer Torres 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Flossie Mosebach

Flossie Mosebach 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Jennifer Argabright

Jennifer Argabright 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×