Thou Shalt Not Road Trip by Antony John

62%

13 Critic Reviews

Despite some engaging interpersonal drama, much of the premise here is hard to swallow
-Kirkus

Synopsis



From the award-winning author of Five Flavors of Dumb comes a novel featuring one crazy road trip full of rejection, redemption, and romance. Perfect for fans of John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines, or Sara Zarr’s Once Was Lost.



Sixteen-year-old Luke’s self-help book Hallelujah has become a national bestseller and his publisher is sending him on a cross-country book tour along the historic Route 66. Unfortunately for Luke, his irresponsible older brother Matt is coming along as chauffeur. When Matt offers to drive Luke’s ex-crush, Fran, across the country too, things really get crazy. In this journey of self-discovery, Luke has to loosen up and discover what it truly means to have faith to win the girl he loves.



"A highly readable balance of humor, heart, self-discovery, and shenanigans."—BCCB



"Christian values are conveyed with humor, devoid of potentially preachy pitfalls."—School Library Journal



"Features multifaceted teens whose faith is integrated with their thinking but doesn't define them completely . . . [A]n upbeat read with a unique premise, great settings, and just a little more."—Booklist
 

About Antony John

See more books from this Author
Antony John (antonyjohn.net) is the author of the Schneider Award–winning novel Five Flavors of Dumb. He is a stay-at-home dad who writes by night, and lives with his family in St. Louis, Missouri.
 
Published April 12, 2012 by Dial. 336 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Education & Reference, Humor & Entertainment, Children's Books. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Thou Shalt Not Road Trip
All: 13 | Positive: 9 | Negative: 4

Kirkus

Below average
Feb 15 2012

Despite some engaging interpersonal drama, much of the premise here is hard to swallow

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Below average
Mar 26 2012

John’s novel lacks tension, and the characters are difficult to make sense of

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

365 Days of Reading

Good
Reviewed by Lauren on Apr 10 2012

Thou Shalt Not Road Trip is humorous, just like Luke’s Hallelujah, but it’s also incredibly poignant.

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

Chick Loves Lit

Good
Reviewed by Shanyn on Apr 09 2012

I had a lot of fun reading THOU SHALT NOT ROAD TRIP.

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

YA Librarian Tales

Below average
Reviewed by Sarah on Apr 09 2012

I utterly disliked Luke Dorsey and found him to be an apathetic character.

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

Stacked

Good
Reviewed by Kelly on Apr 04 2012

What John did in this novel is far better than offer up a story about an enlightened teenager spreading his word about belief and faith.

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

Confessions of a Bookaholic

Good
Reviewed by Jessica on Apr 07 2012

Antony John's writing really kept the story flowing nicely.

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

Forever Young Adult

Good
Reviewed by Jenny Bird on Apr 10 2012

Luke's voice felt completely authentic, from its times of self-loathing to its self-righteousness

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

I'd Rather Be Reading

Good
May 17 2012

John juggles a lot of themes in his book, dealing with faith, family, and romance in some new and really awesome ways. I loved it.

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

Brian Katcher

Good
Reviewed by Brian Katcher on May 05 2012

Antony John makes us fall in love with a strange group of characters in an unlikely setting. Very much worth the read.

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

Geeky Reading

Good
Reviewed by Jude on Apr 22 2012

the book was really interesting and well done, and it kept me (a little surprisingly) interested throughout the whole thing

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

I Am a Reader, Not a Writer

Good
Reviewed by Kathy on Apr 03 2012

I found Thou Shalt Not to be well written and very entertaining.

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

Books From Bleh to Basically Amazing

Below average
Reviewed by Ashley on Nov 28 2011

this book lacked a certain authenticity in everything except the religion talk.

Read Full Review of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

Reader Rating for Thou Shalt Not Road Trip
70%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 5 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×