LOUISA MAY ALCOTT Ultimate Collection by Louisa May Alcott
16 Novels & 150+ Short Stories, Plays and Poems (Illustrated): Little Women, Good Wives, Little Men, Jo's Boys. The Abbot's Ghost, A Garland for Girls…

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


This carefully crafted ebook: "LOUISA MAY ALCOTT Ultimate Collection: 16 Novels & 150+ Short Stories, Plays and Poems (Illustrated)" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents.
Louisa May Alcott: Her Life, Letters, and Journals
Little Women
Good Wives
Little Men
Jo's Boys
The Mysterious Key and What It Opened
An Old Fashioned Girl
Work: A Story of Experience
Eight Cousins; or, The Aunt-Hill
Rose in Bloom: A Sequel to Eight Cousins
Under the Lilacs
Jack and Jill: A Village Story
Behind a Mask, or a Woman's Power
The Abbot's Ghost, Or Maurice Treherne's Temptation
A Modern Mephistopheles
Pauline's Passion and Punishment
Short Story Collections
Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag
Jimmy's Cruise in the Pinafore
An Old-Fashioned Thanksgiving
Lulu's Library
Flower Fables
On Picket Duty, and other tales
Spinning-Wheel Stories
A Garland for Girls
Silver Pitchers: and Independence, a Centennial Love Story
A Merry Christmas & Other Christmas Stories
Other Short Stories and Novelettes
Hospital Sketches
Marjorie's Three Gifts
Perilous Play
A Whisper in the Dark
Lost in a Pyramid, or the Mummy's Curse
A Modern Cinderella
A Country Christmas
Aunt Kipp
Debby's Debut
My Red Cap
Nelly's Hospital
Psyche's Art
The Brothers
A Little Grey Curl
To Papa
In Memoriam
Captive of Castile
Norna; or, The Witch's Curse
The Greek Slave
The Unloved Wife
Louisa May Alcott (1832-1888) was an American novelist and poet best known as the author of the classic Little Women and its sequels Little Men and Jo's Boys. Alcott was an abolitionist and a feminist.
"Little Women" is a semi-autobiographical account of the author's childhood with her sisters in Concord, Massachusetts. "Good Wives" followed the March sisters into adulthood and marriage. "Little Men" detailed Jo's life at the Plumfield School that she founded with her husband Professor Bhaer. "Jo's Boys" completed the "March Family Saga".

About Louisa May Alcott

See more books from this Author
Louisa May Alcott was born in Germantown, Pennsylvania, in 1832. Two years later, she moved with her family to Boston and in 1840 to Concord, which was to remain her family home for the rest of her life. Her father, Bronson Alcott, was a transcendentalist and friend of Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau. Alcott early realized that her father could not be counted on as sole support of his family, and so she sacrificed much of her own pleasure to earn money by sewing, teaching, and churning out potboilers. Her reputation was established with Hospital Sketches (1863), which was an account of her work as a volunteer nurse in Washington, D.C. Alcott's first works were written for children, including her best-known Little Women (1868--69) and Little Men: Life at Plumfield with Jo's Boys (1871). Moods (1864), a "passionate conflict," was written for adults. Alcott's writing eventually became the family's main source of income. Throughout her life, Alcott continued to produce highly popular and idealistic literature for children. An Old-Fashioned Girl (1870), Eight Cousins (1875), Rose in Bloom (1876), Under the Lilacs (1878), and Jack and Jill (1881) enjoyed wide popularity. At the same time, her adult fiction, such as the autobiographical novel Work: A Story of Experience (1873) and A Modern Mephistopheles (1877), a story based on the Faust legend, shows her deeper concern with such social issues as education, prison reform, and women's suffrage. She realistically depicts the problems of adolescents and working women, the difficulties of relationships between men and women, and the values of the single woman's life.
Published December 21, 2015 by e-artnow. 5660 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction