Ploughshares Solos Omnibus Volume 1 by Megan Mayhew Bergman

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Nine long stories and essays, originally published in the Ploughshares Solos digital series, unite for the first time in this inaugural collection.

Follow a street urchin's transformation into a burlesque star and a woman's solitary, hectic journey through Israel and the West Bank. Wait with Kafka's last physician for "the patient in room 12" to die, and dream of performing death-defying motorcycle stunts with an Uzbek boy. These and other characters struggle to understand themselves and the worlds they move through.

Since 1971, Ploughshares has discovered and cultivated the freshest voices in contemporary American literature, and remains prescient in the digital age by publishing quality literature for readers wherever they are. Find out why The New York Times named Ploughshares "the triton among the minnows."

About Megan Mayhew Bergman

See more books from this Author
Published October 17, 2013 by Ploughshares / Emerson College. 453 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Literature & Fiction. Fiction